DWI and Your Drivers License
In Texas the first consequence of a DWI is arrest and a night in jail. The second, and more worrisome for most is the loss of your drivers license.ALR Hearing
Remember you must hire me within 15 days of Arrest so I can request an ALR hearing.
If you do not request an ALR hearing within 15 days of your "Notice of Suspension" then your license, permit, or privilege to operate a motor vehicle will be suspended on the 40th day after "Notice of Suspension."
If you request an ALR hearing your license will not be until the hearing is held.
What is a notice of suspension? That is a form (DIC 25) that read to you before you are asked for a breath/blood sample. You should receive this when you leave jail.
No ALR Request, or after you lose the ALR hearing-
If you do not request an ALR hearing, or if you lose at the ALR hearing (ALR hearings are designed for the State to win) your license will be suspended.
If you take the breath test and fail-
90 days unless you have a prior contact.
If you have a prior contact, 1 year.
If you refuse to take a breath test-
Your license will be suspended for 180 days, unless you have a prior contact, then it will be suspended for two years.
Texas law allows for an Occupational Drivers license. This will get you to and from work, etc. These are subject to many restrictions. Call for full details.